top of page

The Death of Expectation


ex·pec·ta·tion

ˌekspekˈtāSH(ə)n/

noun: expectation; plural noun: expectations

a strong belief that something will happen or be the case in the future.

"reality had not lived up to expectations"

A little more than a week ago, I was waiting to receive some news that I believed if not favorable, would totally crush my spirits.

I applied to an incubator out west in Silicon Valley...the place where dreams go to pivot.

After weeks of waiting for response day, we received the email around 11pm that our company was not selected for the interview round. Initially I could not understand why. We met all of the criteria, with a few added bonuses.

Great idea ✔

Proof of concept ✔

Customer base ✔

Woman owned ✔

Minority owned ✔

How could they not pick us?!?!

But you see...somewhere between the dream and reality, I got lost in what I believed I should become, instead of becoming what I believed in.

The belief that if I would only change this or become that, began to guide my thought process. Meanwhile, the company had shifted so much from its original vision that neither I nor they knew what to make of it.

After speaking with a friend out in Silicon Valley, I was reminded of the vision I have for myself, my company and its legacy, and in that moment I knew I didn't have to travel 3,000 miles to realize my dreams.

I was already living in them.

Every single day I chose to forge forward I was manifesting the life I want.

So I say to you. Hold fast. Stay strong. Don't be swayed. Remain focused. And leave expectation on death's doorstep, where it belongs.

Now Go, Be Great!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page